top of page

Tara Camel Race Festival


On the 4th and 5th of August I had the privilege of performing at Tara Camel race festival. The atmosphere was electric, the people were amazingly friendly and the food was yummy. What more could you want.

You may ask where is Tara, well it’s about four hours west off Brisbane, and you have to drive through Dolby.

I have never seen a camel race before, so this was the first time and what an interesting site. I learned that when camels Bolt, you can’t pull up like a horse, they have to run to the end. Everything about them looks awkward, their legs flinging out all over the place and the jockeys sit back behind the hump and sometimes they zigzag Down the racecourse. It is quite fun to watch.

But also at the festival, there were a lot of cultural dances, musicians and singers. I had the privilege of opening the Tara festival with my show “Mana” the spirit of Polynesia. What a blast I had, I swear there was more then 1500 people, watching and participating. This was a different crowd then I’m used, because most of the audience look like they were over 50, so I had to perform some magic to get volunteers up on the stage. In fact that was not a problem because at the end of my show, I managed to get the whole crowd up to do a little hip-hop dance, and it looked beautiful and crazy at the same time.

I love performing, inspiring, teaching, and connecting with people. As I perform I always remember this, “good stories transcend boundaries, breakdown barriers, and open doors. Great stories create emotion which forge connection”. Don’t you think that is so true.

That is what I felt, connected to all these people in some way or another. Stories do that they are very powerful. I read somewhere that you don’t really tell a story, you relive it.

I performed one show on Friday, and two on Saturday, but unfortunately Anita and I had to leave to get back to Brisbane on Saturday night, so I could fly out to Christchurch early in the morning.

I hope to be able to go to perform at more festivals, and enjoy the same atmosphere and Connection!


bottom of page